# Tags
#Lead Story

Wike, Edun Winners as Tinubu Assigns Portfolios to Ministers

There were no surprises as President Bola Tinubu allocated portfolios to the 45 minister-designates, whose nominations were recently confirmed by the Senate.

Key allies and supporters of the president’s presidential ambition like Nyesom Wike, former governor of Rivers State, and long-time allies and business associates like Wale Edun winners in the announcement that has broken with tradition where portfolios were traditionally assigned to ministers on the day of their inauguration.

Wike, a chieftain of the People’s Democratic Party (PDP), withdrew support for the party’s own presidential candidate, Alhaji Atiku Abubakar; backing Tinubu for the election and now has been rewarded with the plum job of Minister of the Federal Capital Territory (FCT).

Wale Edun, the president’s business associate and a two-time Commissioner for Finance in Lagos State under Tinubu in Lagos State, gets the plum job of Minister of Finance and Coordinating Minister for the Economy.

In a list released by a senior presidency official at the State House in Abuja, Senator David Umahi, the former governor of Ebonyi State, has been designated as the Minister of Works. Festus Keyamo has been appointed Minister of Aviation and Aerospace Development, Adegboyega Oyetola, the former governor of Osun State, is the new Minister of Transportation, and Wale Edun will serve as the Minister of Finance and Coordinating Minister of the Economy.

Although it is believed that the position of Minister of Petroleum Resources may potentially be reserved for Tinubu, in line with previous administrations since the Fourth Republic, the ministerial list also features Bosun Tijani as Minister of Communications, Innovation, and Digital Economy. President Tinubu has reserved the position of Minister of Environment and Ecological Management for the nominee from Kaduna State, whose announcement is pending.

Ishak Salako has been appointed Minister of State for Environment and Ecological Management, and Nyesom Wike, the former governor of Rivers State, is now the Minister of the Federal Capital Territory (FCT).

Bunmi Tunji-Ojo has taken on the role of Minister of Marine and Blue Economy; Adedayo Adelabu is the Minister of Power; Tunji Alausa serves as the Minister of State for Health and Social Welfare; Dele Alake holds the position of Minister of Solid Minerals Development, and Lola Ade-John has been appointed Minister of Tourism.

Doris Anite is the Minister of Industry, Trade, and Investment; Uche Nnaji is the Minister of Innovation, Science, and Technology; Nkiruka Onyejeocha takes on the role of Minister of State for Labour and Employment, while Uju Kennedy has been appointed Minister of Women Affairs.

The list also includes Abubakar Momoh as Minister of Youth; Betta Edu as Minister of Humanitarian Affairs and Poverty Alleviation; Ekperikpe Ekpo as Minister of State for Gas Resources; Heineken Lokpobiri as Minister of State for Petroleum Resources; and John Enoh as Minister of Sports Development.

Others are Hannatu Musawa as Minister of Art, Culture, and Creative Economy; Mohammed Badaru as Minister of Defense; Bello Mattawale as Minister of State for Defense; Yusuf Sununu as Minister of State for Education; Ahmed Dangiwa as Minister of Housing and Urban Development; Abdullahi Gwarzo as Minister of State for Housing and Urban Development; and Atiku Bagudu as Minister of Budget and National Planning.

According to the statement, Mairiga Mahmud is the Minister of State for the FCT; Bello Goronyo takes on the role of Minister of State for Water Resources and Sanitation; Abubakar Kyari serves as Minister of Agriculture and Food Security; Tahir Maman is the Minister of Education; Saidu Alkali is the Minister of Interior; Yusuf Tuggar is the Minister of Foreign Affairs; Ali Pate assumes the role of Coordinating Minister of Health and Social Welfare, and Ibrahim Geidam has been appointed Minister of Police Affairs.

Shuaibu Audu is the Minister of Steel Development, and Maigari Ahmadu is the Minister of State for Steel Development. Muhammed Idris is the Minister of Information and National Orientation, Lateef Fagbemi is the Attorney General of the Federation and Minister of Justice, while Simon Lalong is the Minister of Labour and Employment.

Imaan Sulaiman-Ibrahim will preside at the Ministry of State for Police Affairs, Zephaniah Jisalo at the Ministry of Special Duties and Intergovernmental Affairs, Joseph Utsev at the Ministry of Water Resources and Sanitation, and Aliyi Sabi Abdullahi at the Ministry of Agriculture and Food Security.

The statement issued by the SGF, Senator George Akume, the swearing-in ceremony for the ministers will be presided over by President Tinubu. This event is scheduled to take place at 10am on Monday at the State House Conference Centre, Aso Villa, Abuja.

The statement, signed by the Director of Information at the Office of the SGF, Willie Bassey, indicates that each incoming minister is expected to be accompanied by two guests.

Meanwhile, the Nigeria Employers’ Consultative Association (NECA) has lauded the allocation of ministries, recognizing that the positions are well-aligned with the appointees’ skills and experiences. Given the current circumstances, NECA emphasizes the need for swift integration into their respective roles and for the ministers to proceed at an accelerated pace.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *